Lil Wayne Drops 13th Studio Album ‘Funeral’

, ,

Lil Wayne has released his 13th studio album Funeral. The 24-track project enlists an all-star cast consisting of Big Sean, Lil Baby, Jay Rock, Adam Levine, 2 Chainz, The Dream and more. Throughout the project, released via Young Money/Republic, Wayne explores themes of death, his current place atop and within the hip-hop industry and showcases yet another motivated output following the stellar success of Tha Carter V.

Album Art

Weezy is also chasing that elusive fifth straight No. 1 album after his previous four have reached the top of the Billboard charts. Last year, the New Orleans superstar reunited with Hot Boys-era cohorts Birdman and Juvenile for “Ride Dat.” The scope of Funeral is also substantially impressive with 24 total songs in an era where plenty of LPs with seven to nine songs are considered just that. Lil Wayne explained his mixtape-esque approach in a sit-down with HypeBeast last year.

“I don’t think it’s important that mixtapes be back. I’m not sure if we need them. I wouldn’t want them to disappear, but I wouldn’t want them to go away completely. These days, it’s a new game. You have cooler artists and everyone [is] more accepting these days. What happens is if you go out there and do a version of someone song that’s already out, 9/10 these days they gon’ get at you, pay you and make that the real single. That’s the new remix joint.”

Stream Lil Wayne’s latest studio project below.

HEADER IMAGE by Jeff Kravitz/Filmmagic/Getty Images